Lord Shiva

In the Hindu mythology, Lord Shiva is the Destroyer and the most important one in the Holy Trinity, the other two being Brahma the Creator and Vishnu the Protector. Lord Shiva has always fascinated his followers by his unique appearance: he has not two but three eyes, has ash smeared all over his body, has snakes coiled up around his head and arms, wears tiger and elephant skin, leads a wild life in the cremation grounds far removed from social pretenses, and is known for his proverbial anger.

Lord Vishnu

He has four arms and is male: The four arms indicate his all-powerful and all-pervasive nature. His physical existence is represented by the two arms in the front, while the two arms at the back represent his presence in the spiritual world. The Upanishad Gopal Uttartapani describes the four arms. Title has been given since some of these facts may be shocking for someone, soothing for devotees and interesting for others. Some of these facts may be known to someone but unknown to other.

Lord Brahma

In Hinduism, Lord Brahma is the first god of the Trinity (Brahma, Vishnu, and Mahesh). He is the creator of the universe. But, he is not worshipped as Lord Vishnu and Shiva. There is only one temple dedicated to him, which is the Pushkar temple of Rajasthan. And many temples are dedicated to Vishnu and Shiva. There is no corner of India where there are no temples of Vishnu and Shiva.

Thiyagaraja Temple – Thiruvarur

Previous Image
Next Image

info heading

info content

Thiyagaraja Temple:

The Thiyagaraja temple at Tiruvarur is one of the ancient heritage sites of India and is a representation of the religio-socio-cultural history of the Tamil region for a period spanning over a millennium and a half. Little is known about this shrine to much of India. The vast temple complex today is truly a standing monument to centuries of history and tradition. Tiruvarur Located near Thanjavur in Tamilnadu, is an ancient shrine steeped in mysticism. It is rich in legend, history and tradition. From the ancient time onwards Thiyagaraja temple occupies an important place in the rise and growth of Saivism in Tamilnadu.

Temple Chariot:

The chariot is the biggest in the whole of India and it is said that the chariot represents the earth and is continuously running with 64 Kalaas. The whole chariot is a symbolism of the Universe.The chariot’s lower decks are the seven Patalalokas. The centre portion is the earth, the upper portion the upper worlds. The six wheels are the six seasons. Lord Brahma who is in the chariot,steering it,is the guide and witness to the timeless,endless cycle of events of Lord Thiyagaraja. The horses that run the chariot are the vedas and their aim is Dharma , Artha , Kama ,Moksha.The ropes that pull the chariot are Shiksha , Kalpam , Vyakarnam , Niruktam , Chandas,Jyothisham,the six tenets of Vedas.The four entrances to the chariot are the four Mahaa Vaakyaas of the vedas.

The car festival and float festival (annual festivals) conducted in grand manner. This car festival is performed in this temple in the month of Panguni (April). In India,the big chariot is in the Poori Jeganath temple at Orissa. But in Tamilnadu the big chariot is in the Thiyagaraja temple at Tiruvarur with architecturally styles.The Chariot is of 90 feet height,300 tonnes weight apart from 6000 man power 2 bull dozer and 5 tractors are used to pull the chariot. The devoties used to pull the chariot chanting the words in praise of the lord Thiyagaraja “AAROORA THIYAGASA” which gives the devoties a spiritual power and an excellent enthusiasm to pull the chariot with great vigor.This paves the way for the social harmony and national integration among the people.

Thiruvarur (Tiruvalur, Thiruvalur) is in the district of Tanjore, connected by the Southern Railway with Madras, a junction at which the Mayavaram Karaikudi and the Tanjore Nagapattinam branch lines cut each other.Thiru +Aar+Oor = Thiruvarur.”Aar” means to this land so this place is known as Thiruvarur.



Leave a reply