Lord Shiva

In the Hindu mythology, Lord Shiva is the Destroyer and the most important one in the Holy Trinity, the other two being Brahma the Creator and Vishnu the Protector. Lord Shiva has always fascinated his followers by his unique appearance: he has not two but three eyes, has ash smeared all over his body, has snakes coiled up around his head and arms, wears tiger and elephant skin, leads a wild life in the cremation grounds far removed from social pretenses, and is known for his proverbial anger.

Lord Vishnu

He has four arms and is male: The four arms indicate his all-powerful and all-pervasive nature. His physical existence is represented by the two arms in the front, while the two arms at the back represent his presence in the spiritual world. The Upanishad Gopal Uttartapani describes the four arms. Title has been given since some of these facts may be shocking for someone, soothing for devotees and interesting for others. Some of these facts may be known to someone but unknown to other.

Lord Brahma

In Hinduism, Lord Brahma is the first god of the Trinity (Brahma, Vishnu, and Mahesh). He is the creator of the universe. But, he is not worshipped as Lord Vishnu and Shiva. There is only one temple dedicated to him, which is the Pushkar temple of Rajasthan. And many temples are dedicated to Vishnu and Shiva. There is no corner of India where there are no temples of Vishnu and Shiva.

Sri Thamaraiyal Kelvan Perumal Temple, Thiru Paarthanpalli – Seergazhi

Previous Image
Next Image

info heading

info content

About the Temple & Location:

This temple lies near Thiruvennkadu of Tanjore district in Tamil Nadu. It’s about 7 miles away from Seerkazhi and 2 miles away from Thiruvennkadu.

Sthala Puranam:

Lord Varuna is the Lord of Rain. He once stole the wife of Bhruhaspathi the Devaguru and was caught by the Brahma Hathi dhosam.

As Lord Shiva had the dharsan of Lord Narayana at the 11 Thirunangur Kshetrams after getting releived from Brahma Hati dhosam, Lord Varuna too came here and got relief from his dhosam.

As Arjuna – Parthan got dharsan of Lord Narayana here, the Perumal has got the name Parthasarathy.

Moolavar and Utsavar are found along with Periya Pirati, Bhoomi piratti and Neeladevi as like Lord Narayana, the Vimaanam got its name as Narayana Vimaanam.

As the Ekadasa Rudhiran got dharsan here, the Pushkarani is known as shankarasaras where Shankara means Lord Shiva and as an honour to Ganges which is in the Top of Lord Shiva’s head, it is also known as Ganga Theertham.

In this temple itself there is a utsavar idol of Kolavalli Raman who has (shell) Shangu, (wheel) Chakram, (a weapon) Ghadai, (bow) Vill and (Arrow) Ambu inhis hands. The Moolavar of this temple is found in a Tamarind Orcherd near the temple.

It is said that meaning of the Sharma sloa, the Gota sloka (”Sharva dharman….”) was got at this place only.


The Moolavar of this Divyadesam is Sri Thamaraiyal Kelvan. Also known as Lakshmi Rangar. He is giving his seva Nindra (Standing) Thirukkolam facing his thirumugham towards east direction. Prathyaksham for Parthan, Varunan and Ekadasa Rudhirar.


The Thayaar found in this sthalam is Thamarai Nayaki.


The Utsavar found in this sthalam is Parthasarathy.


Every year during the Tamil Month Thai, on the Pushya Nakshatram day, a utsavam of the pushkarani is celebrated.


Thirumangaialwar – 10 Paasurams.
Total – 10 Paasurams.


Shankara Saras Pushkarani.

Ganga theertham.

Narayana Vimaanam.


Leave a reply