Famous Murugan Temples


Daily pujas to the deities are performed six times a day (six kalams). Usha Kalam, Kalasandhi and Uchikala poojas are performed in the forenoon and the afternoon poojas..,


Two major festivels of Palani is “Thaipposam” and “Pankuniuthiram”. Thaipoosam is the festivel celebrated on the full moon day of the Tamil Month “Thai”..,


The float festival is celebrated in the month of Aadi, Bhramotsavam in the month of Maasi, during which Valli Kalyanam is celebrated on the 8th day..,


The float festival is celebrated in the month of Aadi, Bhramotsavam in the month of Maasi, during which Valli Kalyanam is celebrated on the 8th day..,


Each Arupadaiveedu has an event mentioned in the ‘puranas’. Thiruchendur is said to be second in importance among his six abodes..,


It is one of the Arupadaiveedu. Pazhamudhircholai is rich in fruits, vegetables and flowers. It is a dense forest where Valli is supposed to have lived..,

Famous Temples in and around Kumbakonam

Kumbakonam is known as the City of temples as there are around thousand of temples in and around Kumbakonam.
There are around 188 Hindu temples within the municipal limits of Kumbakonam. Apart from these, there several thousand temples around the town thereby giving the town the sobriquets “Temple Town” and “City of temples”.

Some of the Famous temples
  1. Kumbeshwar
  2. Ramaswamy
  3. Nageswaran
  4. Kasi Viswanathar
  5. Chakarapani
  6. Someswarar
  7. Abimukeswarar
  8. Gautameswarar
  9. KambattaViswanathar
  10. Varadharaja Perumal
  11. Banapureeswarar
  12. Mahamaham Tank
  13. Ayyavadi
  14. Patteewswaram
  15. Thirubhuvanam
  16. Korukkai
  17. Mangala Sani
  18. Karuvalarcheri
  19. Thirukalasanallur
  20. Thiruppurambiyam
  21. Darasuram
  22. Kumbeshwar
  23. Ramaswamy
  24. Tiruvidaimarudur
  25. Thiruvalanchuzhi
  26. Innambur
  27. Aduthurai
  28. Thirusakthhimutram
  29. Valangaiman
  30. Avoor
  31. Azhagaputhur
  32. Tirundudevankudi
  33. Tiruviyalur
  34. Karuppoor
  35. Thirumananjeri
  36. Thirukkarugaavoor
  37. Thiruppanantaal
  38. Sreevanchiyam
  39. Nallur
  40. Ammankudi
  41. Paruthiyur
  42. Paalivanna Nathar
  43. Oothakadu Temple
  44. Pullamangai Temple
  45. Thirumangalakudi
  46. Papanasam
  47. Karuvili
  48. Thiruneelakudi
  49. Thiruvaiyaru
  50. Tiruvavadutura
  51. Thiruvaikavur
  52. Konerirajapuram
  53. Kuthanoor
  54. Thirukadayur
  55. Kottaiyur
  56. Thittai
  57. Thiruvarur
  58. Mannargudi
  59. Mayiladuthurai
  60. Thiruchsirupuliyoor
  61. Thirucheignalur
  62. Thiruveezhimizhalai
  63. Thirukodikaval
  64. Keevalur
  65. Thirukollikaadu
  66. Gangaikondacholesvara
  67. Ananthamangalam
  68. Thirumeeyachur
  69. Thirupugalur
  70. Semponarkovil
  71. Sayavanam
  72. Thirupamburam
  73. Chidambaram
  74. Avudayar Kovil
  75. Sirkali
  76. Neelayadakshi temple

Divya Desams

The shrines where the divine saints Azhwars, said to be the Amsams of Sriman. Narayanan, have sung – Mangalaasaasanam – are called Divya Desams. There are 108 Divya Desams, and of these 105 are located in India and 1in Nepal, the remaining two – Parama padam and Thiruppaarkadal – are in the celestial world.

The presiding deities in these Divya Desams are found in various Thirukkolams(postures)

  1. Kidantha Thirukkolam (Sleeping posture) in 27 Divyadesams
  2. Veetrirundha Thirukkolam (Sitting posture) in 21 Divyadesams
  3. Nindra Thirukkolam (Standing posture) in 60 Divyadesams

Divya Desams are temples where Azhwars worshipped Lord Vishnu, as the presiding deity. Their divine hymns are popularly known as Nalayira Divya Prabantham. The Divya Prabandham is in the form of adoration of the deities of 108 temples (Divya Desams)

List of Divya Kshetrams

For the convenience of the Devotees, these Divya kshetrams are tabled into the following groups, identifying the nearest towns with the basic facilities of Boarding/Lodging and Transport.

  1. Chola Naattu Tirupathigal
  2. Nadu Naattu Tirupathigal
  3. Thondai Naattu Tirupathigal
  4. Vada Naattu Tirupathigal
  5. Malai Naattu Tirupathigal
  6. Pandiya Naattu Tirupathigal

Navagraha Temples

Nava means ‘nine’ and ghara means planetary ‘energy’, ‘force’ or ‘controller’ so Navagraha Pooja is a prayer ritual performed to energise an individual or family according to the nine planetary forces. According to modern astronomy, only five of these nine influences are actually planets. Kuja (Mars), Budha (Mercury), Guru (Jupiter), Sukra (Venus) and Sani (Saturn), Surya (the Sun) is a Star. Chandra (the Moon) is a natural satellite, Rahu (north node of the moon) and Ketu (south node of the moon) are not celestial bodies, but polar energies.

List of Navagraha and their Locations

Sani- Thirunallar
Kethu- Keezhaperumpallam
Suryan-Suriyanar Koil

Famous Temples in Tamilnadu

This is a list of popular Hindu temples in the Indian state of Tamil Nadu, known as Land of Temples. Nearly 33,000 ancient temples, many at least 800 to 1200 years old, are found scattered all over the state. Most of the largest Hindu Temples reside here. Studded with complex architecture, variety of sculptures, and rich inscriptions, the temples remain the very essence of the culture and heritage of Tamil land, with historical records dating back to at least 3,000 years.
The state also abounds with a large number of temple tanks. The state has 2,359 temple tanks located in 1,586 temples. The government has identified 1,068 tanks for renovation.

Temples of Tamil Nadu can be categorized as below:

  1. Temples of Sangam Age
  2. Temples of Thevaram Hymns
  3. Temples of Divya Prabhantham Hymns
  4. Cave Temples of the Pallavas
  5. Cave Temples of Pandiyas
  6. Rockcut Monolith Temples of the Pallavas
  7. Rockcut Monolith Temples of the Pandiyas
  8. Structural Temples of the Pallavas
  9. Structural Temples of the Pandiyas
  10. Structural Temples of the Cholas
  11. Structural Temples of Vijayanagar / Nayaks
  12. Ayyanarappan Temples (The Protector of Villages)
  • Meenakshi Temple
    Meenakshi Temple
    The Madurai Meenakshi Sundareswarar temple is being one of the greatest temples of Meenakshi in India. It is well known for the sprawling landscape filled with sculptured halls, pillars and lofty towers which have lavish artwork in all forms.
  • Varadaraja temple
    Varadaraja temple
    Varadaraja Perumal temple is recognized as Hastigiri and it was originally known as Attiyuran. Attiyuuran is a famous Hindu temple dedicated to Lord Vishnu located in the holy city of Kanchipuram, Tamilnadu, India. It is one of the "Divya Desams" temple, the 108 temples of Lord Vishnu believed to have been visited by the 12 poet saints, or Alwars.
  • Chidambaram Temple
    Chidambaram Temple
    Chidambaram Temple is a Hindu temple which is dedicated to Lord Shiva situated in the heart of the temple town of Chidambaram, TamilNadu. The temple is 78 km south of Pondicherry and 235 Km from Chennai which is the capital city of Tamil Nadu state of southeastern India.
  • Brihadeeshwara Temple
    Brihadeeshwara Temple
    The Brihadeeswara temple is been major center of tourist attraction at Thanjavur. Thanjavur is been the ancient capital of the Chola kings. The famous chalo King Rajaraja constructed the Brihadeeswara Temple in 10th century AD and the architect Sama Varma designed it.
  • Arunachaleswara Temple
    Arunachaleswara Temple
    Arunachaleswara Temple which is located in Tiruvannamalai is dedicated to Lord Siva and it is one of the largest temples in India.

Contact Us

Math Captcha :36 + = 41